Witless Protection (2008)

Witless Protection 2008tt1001562.jpg poster

  • IMDb page: Witless Protection (2008)
  • Rate: 2.9/10 total 4,265 votes 
  • Genre: Comedy | Crime
  • Release Date: 22 February 2008 (USA)
  • Runtime: USA:97 min
  • Filming Location: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
  • Budget: $7,500,000(estimated)
  • Gross: $4,131,640(USA)(16 March 2008)
  • Director: Charles Robert Carner
  • Stars: Larry the Cable Guy, Jenny McCarthy and Richard Bull
  • Original Music By: Eric Allaman   
  • Soundtrack: Chicken Fried
  • Sound Mix: Dolby Digital
  • Plot Keyword: Sheriff | FBI | Possum | Beautiful Woman | Shotgun

Writing Credits By:

  • Charles Robert Carner (screenplay)
  • Charles Robert Carner (story) &
  • Alan C. Blomquist (story) (as Alan Blomquist)

Known Trivia

    Goofs: Continuity: In several scenes driving down the highway running from the F.B.I, the seat belts change between both vehicles.

    Plot: The story centers on a small-town sheriff who witnesses what he believes is a kidnapping and rushes to rescue a woman… See more » |  »

    Story: The story centers on a small-town sheriff who witnesses what he believes is a kidnapping and rushes to rescue a woman. The kidnappers turn out to be FBI agents assigned to protect her and deliver her to a big Enron-type corruption trial in Chicago but are later found to be on the take and are villains who are bent on killing her.Written by anonymous  

    {tab=FullCast & Crew}

    Produced By:

    • Alan C. Blomquist known as producer (as Alan Blomquist)
    • Thomas J. Busch known as executive producer (as Thomas Busch)
    • Maggie Houlehan known as associate producer
    • Jennifer Novak known as associate producer
    • Tom Ortenberg known as executive producer
    • J.P. Williams known as producer

    FullCast & Crew:

    • Larry the Cable Guy known as Deputy Larry Stalder
    • Richard Bull known as Sheriff Smoot
    • J. David Moeller known as Elmer
    • Will Clinger known as Bo
    • Omar Dykes known as Gus (as Omar Kent Dykes)
    • Reno Collier known as Tater
    • Jenny McCarthy known as Connie
    • Yaphet Kotto known as Ricardo Bodi
    • Ivana Milicevic known as Madeleine
    • Dan Waller known as Agent Orange / MIB #1
    • Rick Le Fevour known as MIB #2 (as Rick Lefevour)
    • Joseph Luis Caballero known as MIB #3 (as Joe Caballero)
    • Sean Bridgers known as Norm
    • Gerry Bednob known as Omar
    • Claudia Michelle Wallace known as TSA Woman
    • Emir Yonzon known as TSA Supervisor
    • Gary Tippett known as TSA Dog Handler
    • Jesse Dabson known as TSA Expert
    • Peter Stormare known as Arthur Grimsley
    • Jessica Grace Orr known as Vibiana (as Jessica Orr)
    • Kurt Naebig known as Mark Bedell
    • Eric Roberts known as Wilford Duvall
    • Michael Carner known as Young Boy
    • Joe Mantegna known as Dr. Rondog 'Doc' Savage
    • Gail Rastorfer known as Morgana
    • Lynnette Gaza known as Lillian Grimoire
    • Tommy Bartlett known as Polo Match Guest (uncredited)
    • Steve Christopher known as Butcher (uncredited)
    • Cyn Dulay known as Mansion Guest (uncredited)
    • Kyle Hillman known as Chicago Police Officer (uncredited)
    • Tara Ketterer known as Beauty Queen (uncredited)
    • Tim Krueger known as Polo Soiree Attendee (uncredited)
    • Joseph Lazicki known as Cowboy (uncredited)
    • Angelina Lyubomirova known as Pretty Secretary (uncredited)
    • Brittany Mason known as Grimsley's pool girl (uncredited)
    • Greg McAleer known as Alley Bum (uncredited)
    • Abi McKenzie known as Kid in Parade (uncredited)
    • James Pusztay known as Biker (uncredited)
    • Henry Sandifer known as Young FBI Agent (uncredited)
    • Gary Sedlock known as Wealthy Partygoer at Mansion (uncredited)
    • Amit Shah known as Party Guest (uncredited)
    • John Stacho known as Memphis Police Officer Airport (uncredited)
    • Chauncey Taylor known as Grimsley / Polo Party Guest (uncredited)
    • Charles E Tiedje known as Hometown Hero (uncredited)
    • Lisa Wolf known as Parade Participant (uncredited)

    ..{tab=Supporting Department}Makeup Department:

    • Karen Lynn Accattato known as makeup department head
    • Alicja Klosek known as additional hair stylist
    • Ross Martucci known as key makeup artist
    • Pamela Milone-McLaughlin known as hair department head
    • Joyce Taft known as key hair stylist

    Art Department:

    • Stephanie Barkley known as art department coordinator
    • Tom Castronovo known as graphic designer
    • Jeno Dellicolli known as gang boss
    • Anthony Joseph Fatigato known as painter
    • Nathan Mack known as carpenter
    • Tyler Osman known as construction coordinator
    • Charles E Tiedje known as props
    • Timothy W. Tiedje known as property master
    • Holly Todd known as on-set dresser
    • Jessica Voogd known as buyer
    • Käthe Walton known as props
    • Desi Wolff known as buyer
    • Rob Yale known as assistant property master
    • Josh Zylstra known as leadman


    Production Companies:

    • Parallel Entertainment

    Other Companies:

    • Chicago Audio Works  production sound services
    • Crowd In A Box  inflatable extras
    • Crowd In A Box  inflatable mannequins
    • David Haddad  transportation equipment
    • Departure Studios  post-production facilities
    • ExtraOrdinary Casting  extras casting
    • Haddad's  transportation equipment
    • Rockbottom Rentals  cell phone rentals
    • Rockbottom Rentals  junxion box rentals
    • Rockbottom Rentals  walkie rentals


    • Lionsgate (2008) (USA) (theatrical)
    • Eagle Films (2008) (non-USA) (all media) (Middle East)
    • EuroVideo (2010) (Germany) (DVD)
    • Indies Home Entertainment (2009) (Netherlands) (DVD) (retail)
    • Lionsgate (2008) (USA) (DVD)
    • Movie Bank (2009) (Netherlands) (DVD) (rental)

    ..{tab=Other Stuff}

    Special Effects:

    • HimAnI Productions (visual effects)
    • iO Film (opticals)

    Visual Effects by:

    • Christopher Dusendschon known as digital imaging supervisor: iO FILM
    • Kevin Kutchaver known as visual effects supervisor: HimAnI Productions, Inc.
    • Mia Lavezzi known as digital restoration artist
    • Iain Marcks known as digital imaging technician: iO FILM (as Iain Stasukevich)
    • Jon Terada known as digital compositor

    Release Date:

    • USA 22 February 2008
    • Iceland 16 October 2008 (DVD premiere)
    • Netherlands 21 July 2009 (DVD premiere)
    • Germany 29 April 2010 (DVD premiere)

    MPAA: Rated PG-13 for crude and sex-related humor


    Filmography links and data courtesy of The Internet Movie Database

    Leave a Reply