The Disappeared (2008)

The Disappeared 2008tt1094295.jpg poster

  • IMDb page: The Disappeared (2008)
  • Rate: 5.7/10 total 913 votes 
  • Genre: Horror | Thriller
  • Runtime: 96 min
  • Director: Johnny Kevorkian
  • Stars: Harry Treadaway, Greg Wise and Alex Jennings
  • Original Music By: Ilan Eshkeri   
  • Plot Keyword: Disappearance | Brother | Missing Brother | Missing Child | Videotape

Writing Credits By:

    (in alphabetical order)

  • Johnny Kevorkian 
  • Neil Murphy 

Known Trivia

    Goofs: Incorrectly regarded as goofs: In the scene where Simon (Tom Felton) throws Matthew (Harry Treadaway) out of his house, Matthew says "Wait. Tom, it's trying to warn us," using the actor's name instead of his character's.*** He says 'Tom is trying to warn us', referring to his missing brother. ***

    Plot: Following the disappearance of his younger brother Tom, Matthew Ryan tries to put his life and sanity back together. However the past keeps coming back to haunt him. Full summary » |  »

    Story: Matthew Ryan's life is devastated after the disappearance of his younger brother, Tom. Matthew's father had left him to look after Tom and now Matthew feels responsible. His father is trying to hold back the anger and the blame but the cracks are beginning to show. One day Matthew is looking through a box of press clippings and video tapes about Tom's disappearance. Suddenly he hears a ghostly voice on one of the video tapes telling him "you never came for me!". It's the voice of his missing brother. He shows the tape to his father, Jake. This time there's no voice and Jake flies into a rage as the wound is reopened. Matthew tells his best friend Simon about the voices on the tape. Is he losing his mind, is Tom alive or dead? At home, Matthew plays the tape and hears Tom's voice again, desperately pleading for help. Then Matthew sees Tom at the window…Written by Ellen  

    {tab=FullCast & Crew}

    Produced By:

    • Stephanie Charmail known as line producer
    • Johnny Kevorkian known as producer
    • Neil Murphy known as producer
    • Boo Simonian known as associate producer
    • Gabriel Simonian known as executive producer

    FullCast & Crew:

    • Harry Treadaway known as Matthew Ryan
    • Greg Wise known as Jake Ryan
    • Alex Jennings known as Adrian Ballan
    • Tom Felton known as Simon
    • Finlay Robertson known as Jason Saks
    • Nikki Amuka-Bird known as Shelley Cartwright
    • Ros Leeming known as Amy Tyler
    • Bronson Webb known as Gang Leader
    • Georgia Groome known as Sophie Pryor
    • Lewis Lemperuer Palmer known as Tom Ryan
    • Jefferson Hall known as Edward Bryant
    • Tyler Anthony known as Rebecca Cartwright
    • James Cook known as Anthony
    • T'Nia Miller known as Doctor
    • Benedict Martin known as Father Symmonds
    • Daniel Tatarsky known as Police Sergeant
    • Ruth D'Silva known as Reporter
    • Paula Bingham known as Mrs. Pryor
    • Glynne Steele known as Doctor Cole
    • Evie Dawnay known as Nurse
    • Oscar Redif known as Young boy
    • David Broughton-Davies known as Amy's Father

    ..{tab=Supporting Department}Makeup Department:

    • Georgiana Creanga known as hair assistant
    • Georgiana Creanga known as makeup assistant
    • Ashley Hill known as hair assistant
    • Ashley Hill known as makeup assistant
    • Mary-Anne Waite known as chief hair stylist
    • Mary-Anne Waite known as chief makeup artist

    Art Department:

    • Steven Aldridge known as storyboard artist
    • Olivia Altaras known as props
    • Emma Clough known as stand-by props
    • Charlotte Crosbie known as production buyer
    • Charlotte Crosbie-Jones known as props buyer
    • Philippa Culpepper known as assistant art director
    • Jonnie Elf known as carpenter
    • Kim Green known as props
    • Chris Hone known as stand-by art director
    • Jenny Ray known as props
    • Sandra Soler known as assistant art director
    • Alan Sullivan known as carpenter
    • Mia Summerville known as art department assistant
    • Ria Wicks known as props


    Production Companies:

    • Lost Tribe Productions (presents)
    • Minds Eye Films (presents)


    • Accent Film Entertainment (2010) (Australia) (DVD)
    • Cinemax (2010) (Hungary) (TV)
    • Dutch FilmWorks (DFW) (2010) (Netherlands) (DVD)
    • IFC Films (2010) (USA) (DVD)
    • Soda Pictures (2010) (UK) (DVD)

    ..{tab=Other Stuff}

    Special Effects:

    • Rushes Post Production

    Visual Effects by:

    • Dave Bannister known as digital compositor: Rushes Post Production
    • Charlie Bluett known as prosthetic designer
    • Tone Davies known as laboratory contacts
    • Michael Deming known as digital film bureau
    • Joseph Dymond known as digital compositor: Rushes
    • Guy Elson known as digital compositor: Rushes Post Production
    • Sukh Gill known as visual effects co-coordinator
    • Rob Gordon known as digital online editor
    • Andy Hargreaves known as animator: Rushes Post Production
    • Louise Hussey known as visual effects producer: Rushes Post Production
    • Timothy P. Jones known as digital film bureau
    • Tom Kimberley known as compositor: Rushes Post Production
    • Alex Llewellyn known as digital compositor: Rushes Post Production
    • Patrick Malone known as digital intermediate director of production
    • Erin McGookin known as digital intermediate producer
    • John Palmer known as digital film bureau manager
    • Rob Pizzey known as digital colourist
    • Kate Porter known as compositor: Rushes Post Production
    • Scott Pritchard known as lead compositor: Rushes Post Production
    • Jonathan Privett known as digital effects supervisor: Rushes Post Production
    • Cristina Puente known as compositor: Rushes Post Production
    • John Taylor known as laboratory contacts
    • Lee Tibbetts known as animator: Rushes Post Production
    • Laurent Treherne known as digital film technical director
    • Abey Watkins known as prosthetic design assistant
    • Dean Watkins known as representing: Ascent Media Group
    • Alan Williamson known as visual effects assistant: Rushes Post Production
    • Jez Tucker known as senior systems administrator: Rushes Post Production (uncredited)

    Release Date:

    • Finland 20 August 2008 (Espoo Film Festival)
    • UK 25 August 2008 (London FrightFest Film Festival) (premiere)
    • USA 12 October 2008 (ScreamFest)
    • Italy 28 October 2008 (Ravenna Nightmare Film Festival)
    • Denmark 18 April 2009 (CPHPIX Festival)
    • UK 19 June 2009 (London)
    • Germany 4 December 2009 (DVD premiere)
    • Netherlands 9 February 2010 (DVD premiere)
    • USA 18 May 2010 (DVD premiere)
    • Hungary 4 June 2010 (TV premiere)


    Filmography links and data courtesy of The Internet Movie Database

    Leave a Reply