Nova zembla (2011)

Nova zembla 2011tt1911607.jpg poster

  • IMDb page: Nova zembla (2011)
  • Rate: 6.0/10 total 1,018 votes 
  • Genre: History
  • Release Date: 23 November 2011 (Belgium)
  • Runtime: 108 min
  • Filming Location: Almere, Flevoland, Netherlands
  • Gross: €7,685,217(Netherlands)(18 January 2012)
  • Director: Reinout Oerlemans
  • Stars: Doutzen Kroes, Derek de Lint and Robert de Hoog
  • Original Music By: Melcher Meirmans  Merlijn Snitker  Chrisnanne Wiegel   
  • Sound Mix: Dolby Digital

Writing Credits By:

    (in alphabetical order)

  • Hugo Heinen 
  • Gerrit de Veer  diary

Known Trivia

  • The first Dutch 3D movie.
  • The real voyage starts with two ships instead of one, but half way the second ship with captain Jan Cornelisz Rijp returns. The next year Rijp visits Northern Russia on a regular trade mission and accidentally meets with the surviving members of the first ship and brings them home. A theatrical element in itself, that was omitted in the story of the movie.
  • The replica of the early 18th century Russian Shtandart was used as a stand-in for the 16th century Dutch ship De Windhond.

Goofs: Anachronisms: At Nova Zembla, Gerrit is asked to look for a plant called Cochlearia (Scurvy-grass or Spoonwort). This plant genus was named Cochlearia by Linnaeus in 1753, 157 years later.



Synopsis: Young Gerrit de Veer is the rookie writer on a 16th century Dutch merchant vessel on a daring mission to find a northern trade route to Asia. The journey turns into a tragedy when the ship gets stuck in ice and the men are forced to spend the winter on the frozen, arctic wasteland of Nova Zembla, fighting polar bears , hunger and lethal temperatures. Their chances of making it until the following spring are virtually zero

{tab=FullCast & Crew}

Produced By:

  • Hans De Weers known as producer
  • Erwin Godschalk known as line producer
  • Reinout Oerlemans known as producer
  • Maarten Swart known as executive producer
  • Sim van Veen known as co-producer
  • Ronald van Wechem known as executive producer

FullCast & Crew:

  • Doutzen Kroes known as Catharina Plancius
  • Derek de Lint known as Willem Barentsz
  • Robert de Hoog known as Gerrit de Veer
  • Semmy Schilt known as Claes
  • Jan Decleir known as Petrus Plancius
  • Victor Reinier known as Jacob van Heemskerck
  • Teun Kuilboer known as Pieter Vos
  • Bas Keijzer known as Kok
  • Juda Goslinga known as Laurens
  • Jochum van der Woude known as Jan Fransz
  • Mads Wittermans known as Chirurgijn
  • Herman Egberts known as Harmen
  • Angie Andradóttir known as Puffin
  • Arjan Duine known as Oene
  • Arend Brandligt known as Adriaan
  • John Visser known as Noble Gentleman (uncredited)

..{tab=Supporting Department}Makeup Department:

  • Carolina Leenders known as key makeup artist
  • Kenneth Mountforde-Shone known as wigs
  • Joan Tjon a Hie known as assistant makeup and hair
  • Shirley van der Lem known as assistant makeup artist

Art Department:

  • Harrie Adema known as painter
  • Rob Bos known as construction coordinator
  • Hans Broers known as construction coordinator
  • Rob de Croon known as set builder
  • Gerald de Weerdt known as consultant ship
  • Romke Faber known as assistant production designer
  • Erik Hillenbrink known as polar bear effects
  • Erik Hillenbrink known as special props
  • Rob Hillenbrink known as polar bear effects
  • Rob Hillenbrink known as special props
  • Michael Kalden known as props master
  • Sander Leemans known as art department assistant: Brugge & Enkhuizen
  • Sander Leemans known as assistant on-set dresser: Enkhuizen
  • Manon Peters known as assistant set dresser
  • Martinus Smit known as construction coordinator
  • Martijn Troost known as special propmaker
  • Steven van Couwelaar known as set dresser
  • Vera van de Sandt known as props
  • Gijs van der Lelij known as storyboard artist
  • Peter van Eerdenburg known as scenic artist
  • Ivonne Verbeek known as production art department
  • Vanessa Vermolen known as props
  • Charlotte Verschure known as prop maker
  • Lieke Willems known as draftswoman
  • Ulrich Zeidler known as concept artist


Production Companies:

  • Eyeworks Film & TV Drama
  • Investment Fund Nova Zembla (for)
  • Inspire Pictures (in cooperation with)
  • Nederlands Fonds voor de Film (as The Netherlands Film Fund) (supported by)
  • Eyeworks (as Eyeworks Holding) (supported by)
  • RTL Entertainment


  • Benelux Film Distributors (2011) (Belgium) (theatrical)
  • Benelux Film Distributors (2011) (Netherlands) (theatrical)
  • Benelux Film Distributors (BFD) Home Entertainment (2012) (Netherlands) (DVD)
  • Benelux Film Distributors (BFD) Home Entertainment (2012) (Netherlands) (DVD) (Blu-ray)

..{tab=Other Stuff}Visual Effects by:

  • Bobby de Boer known as digital compositor
  • Meike Deutscher known as digital mattepainter: RISE Visual Effects Studios
  • Michael Dohne known as visual effects supervisor
  • Sebastian Elsner known as pipeline developer: RISE Visual Effects Studios
  • Daniel Stefan Gagiu known as visual effects artist
  • Andreas Giesen known as CGI TDs: RISE Visual Effects Studios
  • Björn Gottwald known as digital compositors: RISE Visual Effects Studios
  • Rene Grasser known as VFX Coordinator: RISE Visual Effects Studios
  • Gene Hammond-Lewis known as digital compositor: RISE Visual Effects Studios
  • Patrick Heinen known as digital compositors: RISE Visual Effects Studios
  • Oliver Hohn known as digital compositors: RISE Visual Effects Studios
  • Korbinian Hopfner known as CGI technical director: RISE Visual Effects Studios
  • Priscilla Jim known as digital compositor
  • Ruud Kouwenberg known as digital compositor
  • Jack Kuiper known as post production supervisor
  • Dirk Mauche known as modeler
  • Luuk Meijer known as digital compositor
  • Ivo Noorlander known as 3d depthgrading & conforming
  • Simon Ohler known as CGI TDs: RISE Visual Effects Studios
  • Bart Otto known as digital compositor
  • Robert Pinnow known as VFX Producer: RISE Visual Effects Studios
  • David Salamon known as CGI TDs: RISE Visual Effects Studios
  • Rayk Schroeder known as digital compositor: RISE Visual Effects Studios
  • Oliver Schulz known as CGI lead: RISE Visual Effects Studios
  • Alexander Schumann known as CGI TDs: RISE Visual Effects Studios
  • Jérémie Sebban known as systems administrator: RISE Visual Effects Studios
  • Jeroen Smeets known as digital compositor
  • Koen Speelman known as digital compositor
  • Alice Sterre known as digital compositor
  • Sietse van de Broek known as graphics teaser & trailer
  • David van Heeswijk known as digital compositor
  • Michiel van Iperen known as CGI animator
  • Shea van Loon known as visual effects intern
  • Jos Wabeke known as digital compositor
  • Jonathan Weber known as digital compositor: RISE Visual Effects Studios
  • Julian Weiss known as CGI TDs: RISE Visual Effects Studios

Release Date:

  • Belgium 23 November 2011
  • Netherlands 24 November 2011


Filmography links and data courtesy of The Internet Movie Database

Leave a Reply